[S4.6] UNESCO Chair on Digital Cultural Heritage-ViMM Manifesto

Date: Tuesday,2 October
Time : 11:50 - 13:20
Duration : One session
Place: Phaedra
Audience Type : Open
Type: Invited session

11:30 Welcome (Monika Hagedorn-Saupe, President of ICOM/CIDOC and Marinos Ioannides,Director of UNESCO Chair on DCH)
11:40 Introduction to UNESCO Chair (Marinos Ioannides)
12:00 H2020 - CSA Virtual Multimodal Project (ViMM Project), à Virtual Multimodal Museum, Main objectives and goals (Marinos Ioannides / Andreas Richter) Manifesto, Road-Map and Action-Plan for Europe's Digital Heritage in the EU Horizon-Europe Framework Program (Robert Davies)
12:30 ICOM-CIDOC Synergies and common paths with the UNESCO-Chair and ViMM, TBC
12:45 Question and Answer, Discussion

Robert Davies
Cyprus University of Technology, Cyprus
Short Bio:

Rob Davies has been involved with EU research, inovation and policy support programmes for over 20 years. During that time he has initiated and led a large number of successful projects under successive Research Frameworks (dating back to FP3), e-Content, IST-PSP, LLP and several other programmes, addressing important issues in Digital Cultural Heritage (including several Europeana-related actions), Public Sector Information and non-formal education.

He is the Manager of the H2020 CSA Virtual Multimodal Museum Project #ViMMuseum  www.vi-mm.eu

Marinos Ioannides
Director of UNESCO Chair on DCH,
Short Bio:

Dr. Marinos Ioannides is the director of the Digital Heritage lab of the Cyprus University of Technology in Limassol. The lab is the fastest growing research Centre on the island and has been awarded a number of EU projects within its five years’ debut (total budget for CUT: 7.0 MEuro). He was the coordinator of the the biggest research project at CUT – www.itn-dch.eu with a total budget ca 3.8 MEuro (A Marie Curie fellowship project with 24 partners and 20 fellows) and the only in the EU H2020 CSA project on Virtual Museums with the main objective to shape the EU digital heritage agenda in the upcoming frame work program HorizonEurope – www.vi-mm.eu. In 2010 he was awarded from the Spanish and European Association of Virtual Archaeology the Tartessos prize for his achievements in the area of 3D-documentation in Cultural Heritage.

In 2017 he received the prestigious UNESCO Chair Award on Digital Cultural Heritage, which is the only Chair in the World in this particular area of Education, Science and Culture and in the Year dedicated on Cultural Heritage he received the European Research Area Award on Digital Heritage with a 2.5 MEuro budget.  Marinos is representing Cyprus in all the EU Committees and working groups focusing on the EU Digital Heritage activities. He is member of ICOMOS, CIPA and ISPRS and on board of the ICOMOS-CY and CIPA executive committee.

Monika Hagedorn-Saupe
Institute for Museum Research Staatliche Museen zu Berlin - Preussischer Kulturbesitz, Germany
Short Bio:

Prof. Monika Hagedorn-Saupe studied mathematics, sociology, psychology, and education at the Ruhr-Universität Bochum, at Kings College London, and at the Freie Universität Berlin. Since 1985, she has been a staff member of the Institut für Museumsforschung (Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Stiftung Preußischer Kulturbesitz), overseeing the annual statistics of all German museums. Since 1994, she has been Head of the department "Visitor-related museum research and museum statistics", is responsible for several European projects and acts as the Deputy Director of the Institute. Since 1997 she chairs the Special Interest Group on Documentation (Fachgruppe Dokumentation) in the German Museum Association (Deutscher Museumsbund e.V.).
Since 2013 she is a member of the board of ICOM-Europe. She chairs the information Centres Working Group in CIDOC, the documentation committee in ICOM. In 2001, she was nominated from the German Federal government to participate in the European NRG (National Representatives Group on Digitisation in Culture) and is now a member in the follow-up group MSEG. She is a member of the executive board of Europeana, representing ICOM. She is Vice-President of the Michael Culture Association.
She is Professor in museology at the University of Applied Sciences HTW in Berlin/Germany and teaches visitor research, and European networking